

Press Release

Nominations For The 8th B2B Edition Of 'Cinemar Samabartan' Announced

- The Much Awaited Annual Convocation Of Cinema Will Honour The Outstanding Work Of The Film Fraternity In 2023 -

Kolkata, 4th January, 2024: West Bengal Film Journalists' Association (WBFJA) today announced the nominations for the 8th edition of the West Bengal Film Journalists' Association Award 2023 - 'Cinemar Samabartan'. This year, the announcement for the nominations was made virtually. Veteran film critic Ms Shoma A Chaterji addressed the viewers about this year's ceremony that will be held on 14th January, 2024. The nominations were announced by Mr Nirmal Dhar, Secretary & West Bengal Film Journalists' Association (WBFJA) along with renowned film journalists, Mr Sajal Dutta, Mr Balmiki Chattopadhyay & Mr Samrat Mukhopadhyay.

WBFJA Award is the first digitally broadcasted event of the East. The Awards seeks out the leading lights of the Film industry, and will confer the best talents on **Sunday**,14th **January**, 2024 at **Peerless Inn**. There are 17 award categories in the popular segment, 8 award categories in the Technical Award segment and a Lifetime Achievement Award.

"Cinemar Samabartan stands as the premier forum of innovative storytellers, recognizing the finest talents in Bangla cinema. This distinctive platform distinguishes itself as the sole Industry-to-Industry award ceremony, where only film critics and journalists evaluate the showcased talents. The ultimate motive of this award ceremony is to inspire creativity and foster fresh perspectives. The award ceremony is purely monitored through nominations, no administrative or any sort of interference is encouraged or adhered to. Like previous years, this year too, we do hope the ceremony night will recognize some of the best finery works and stellar performances done in the year 2023", said **Mr Nirmal Dhar, Secretary, and West Bengal Film Journalists' Association (WBFJA)**.

The nomination categories are Best Film, Best Director, Best Actor in a Leading Role, Best Actress in a Leading Role, Best Actor in a Supporting Role, Best Actress in a Supporting Role, Best Actor in a Negative Role, Best Actor in Comic Role, Best Music, Best Playback Singer (Male), Best Playback Singer (Female), Best Background Score, Most Promising Director, Most Promising Actor, Most Promising Actress, Most Popular Film of the Year, Most Popular Actor of the Year and Lifetime Achievement Award (in the name of Late Shri Satyajit Ray).

Award categories for the Technical segments are Best Screenplay, Best Cinematographer, Best Editor, Best Lyricist, Best Art Director, Best Sound Designer, Best Costume Designer and Best Makeup Artist.

The nature of this award ceremony is **SIMPLE** and only the members from the film fraternity and journalists will participate in the award ceremony.

The event is supported by Senco Gold, AddaTimes, Bhuter Raja Dilo Bor, Friends Communications, Roshan Publicity, Sagittarius.Inc, BWS, Closed Door and Priya Cinemas.

For further information please contact:

Kaushik Chatterjee / Abhishek Ghosh Sagittarius.lnc Ph: 8697719310 / 9903227841

